The little one

Remind me, Lord,
that I am the little one.
I can see a great big world,
Yet have little power to change it.
All around are people like me,
Yet they are not the same as me.

Remind me, Lord,
that I am the little one.
Choices come unexpectedly
And I cannot see their full results.
Once I choose a path to take
I cannot return the way I came.

Remind me, Lord,
that I am the little one.
Friends show themselves some days
But are absent for most.
Company is all around
Yet is also inaccessible.

Remind me, Lord,
that I am the little one.
I plan for decades in advance
Yet cannot predict what will come in one day.
Prosperity stays for a time
Then leaves unexpectedly.

Remind me, Lord,
that I am the little one.
I struggle with what to do in the present
And forget to recall my past.
The responsibilities of now
Overshadow Your provision in the past.

Remind me, Lord,
that I am the little one.
Impossible challenges for me
Are puny pebbles in your hands.
When I cannot make my efforts work,
You provide a way unforeseen.

Remind me, Lord,
that I am the little one.
Trials and questions bring me to my knees
Yet in them you make me grow.
Though misery may seem to have no end,
Your love is a promise and is never vain.

Remind me, Lord,
that I am the little one.

Leave a Reply

