The burden of stress

It’s a funny thing, this crushing feeling
That can come and go at any hour:
One moment we are living free,
The next we have lost all our power.

From where does it come? Does it fall from the sky?
For it feels like a comet dropped on my back.
My shoulders languish in bearing the weight
And to my mind it cuts no slack.

It knows no boundaries and never sleeps;
Each day as I wake it’s the first of my thoughts.
Cumbered by it, I rarely find
Shelter, in spite of how much it is sought.

Accomplishments and peace are its worst enemy
And fear is to its fire like wood.
Help us, O God, trust your grace in full
So we can vanquish this beast for good.

2 thoughts on “The burden of stress

  1. DonnaK 22 April, 2015 / 1:01 PM

    Hi Chris. THIS was one of the most beautiful renderings of reaching for the Grace of God in the midst of our own striving. Thank you for sharing your gift.

    I’m visiting from 500 Words.

    Like

    • red_runner92 22 April, 2015 / 1:28 PM

      I’m glad you thought so, Donna! Thank you for visiting.

      Like

Leave a Reply

